Who We Are

The Successful for All Foundation is committed to enabling every child to read and succeed. It was founded by Dr. Robert Slavin and Dr. Nancy Madden, who were united in the 1970s by a shared passion to improve education, especially for children from disadvantaged circumstances.

Working as researchers at Johns Hopkins University, they turned basic research into comprehensive programs designed to harness the power of kids, unlocking their potential through cooperative learning.

The pair worked directly with educators to establish and disseminate their methods – receiving international recognition along the way – and turned Successful for All into a full-fledged not-for-profit. They are backed in their mission to erase illiteracy and change lives by a committed and experienced leadership team and Board of Directors.

The Success for All Foundation continues its strong, productive bond with Johns Hopkins University and its mission to deliver the promise of literacy to all. The university’s Center for Research and Reform in Education works with SFA to develop, research and disseminate reading programs pre-K through grade 12.

Board of Directors

Robert Slavin, Ph.D.
Chairman of the Board, Co-Founder

Robert Slavin is currently Director of the Center for Research and Reform in Education at Johns Hopkins University and is a co-founder of the Success for All Foundation. He received his B.A. in Psychology from Reed College in 1972, and his Ph.D. in Social Relations in 1975 from Johns Hopkins University. Dr. Slavin has authored or co-authored more than 300 articles and book chapters on such topics as cooperative learning, comprehensive school reform, ability grouping, school and classroom organization, desegregation, school-based vision care, research review, and evidence-based reform. Dr. Slavin is the author or co-author of 24 books, including Educational Psychology: Theory into Practice (Allyn & Bacon, 1986, 1988, 1991, 1994, 1997, 2000, 2003, 2006, 2009, 2014, 2018), Cooperative Learning: Theory, Research, and Practice (Allyn & Bacon, 1990, 1995), Show Me the Evidence: Proven and Promising Programs for America’s Schools (Corwin, 1998), Effective Programs for Latino Students (Erlbaum, 2000), Educational Research in the Age of Accountability (Allyn & Bacon, 2007), and Two Million Children: Success for All (Corwin, 2009). He received the American Educational Research Association’s Raymond B. Cattell Early Career Award for Programmatic Research in 1986, the Palmer O. Johnson award for the best article in an AERA journal in 1988, the Charles A. Dana award in 1994, the James Bryant Conant Award from the Education Commission of the States in 1998, the Outstanding Leadership in Education Award from the Horace Mann League in 1999, the Distinguished Services Award from the Council of Chief State School Officers in 2000, the AERA Review of Research Award in 2009, the Palmer O. Johnson Award for the best article in an AERA journal in 2008, and was appointed as a Member of the National Academy of Education in 2009 and an AERA Fellow in 2010. In 2017 he was awarded the E. L. Thorndike Career Achievement Award by the American Psychological Association, and in 2019 he was awarded the AERA Distinguished Contributions to Research in Education Award.

Nancy Madden, Ph.D.
Board Member, Co-Founder and CEO

Dr. Madden is the CEO of the Success for All Foundation, and a professor at the Center for Research and Reform in Education at the School of Education at Johns Hopkins University. Dr. Madden graduated from Reed College in 1973, and received her PhD in Clinical Psychology from American University in 1980. Since 1980, she has worked at the Center for Research and Reform in Education (CRRE) and earlier centers at Johns Hopkins University, where she has directed the development of the reading, writing, tutoring, language arts, and mathematics elements of Success for All, a comprehensive school reform program. An expert in literacy and instruction, Dr. Madden is the author or co-author of many articles and books on cooperative learning, tutoring, prevention of need for special education, and education of disadvantaged students, including Effective Programs for Students at Risk (Allyn & Bacon, 1989) and Two Million Children: Success for All (Corwin, 2009).  Current research interests include computer-assisted tutoring strategies, effects of vision services on achievement, and comprehensive school reform.

Barbara Haxby-Brady
Board Member

Barbara Haxby-Brady served as Vice President of Professional Development at the Success for All Foundation from 1998-2015, and during this time, directed all aspects of professional development for SFA staff and for 1,100 schools in the U.S. She is the primary developer of the Getting Along Together program, the Solutions program, and the Leading for Success program, which guide schools in school-wide prevention planning and problem solving, as well as parent involvement. In addition, Ms. Haxby-Brady worked closely with the Center for Data Driven Reform in Education at Johns Hopkins University to develop ongoing leadership and data analysis training and professional development for school districts. She is a co-author of Two Million Children, which describes 20 years of development of the Success for All program. She currently spends most of her free time climbing mountains in Colorado, where she resides with her husband.

Myra Williams, Ph.D.
Board Member

Dr. Williams recently served as president and CEO of Molecular Applications Group, a bioinformatics company that developed proprietary technology to predict gene and protein function for use in pharmaceutical and agricultural product discovery. Previously, Dr. Williams was vice president of Worldwide R & D Information Resources for Glaxo Wellcome plc and vice president and chief information officer of Glaxo, Inc. She served in an executive capacity at Merck Research Laboratories for more than 20 years. Dr. Williams is a board member for a number of companies and a consultant to venture capital, pharmaceutical, biotechnology and software companies.

Kent McGuire, Ph.D.
Board Member

Kent McGuire is the Program Director of Education at the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation. He leads the investments of our deeper learning and open educational resources strategies, with a focus on helping all students succeed in college, work and civic life. Kent is a veteran of the national education movement for public education.  Previously, Kent was the President and CEO of the Southern Education Foundation, an organization committed to advancing public education in the American South, with a focus on equity and excellence. Prior to that, he served as the Dean of the College of Education at Temple University and was a tenured professor in the Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies.  From 2001 to 2003, Kent was a senior vice president at the Manpower Demonstration Research Corporation, where he split his time between research projects on school reform and directing its department on education, children and youth. He has also been an education program officer at the Pew Charitable Trusts and directed the education program at the Lilly Endowment. Kent served as Assistant Secretary of the U.S. Department of Education from 1998 to 2001.  Kent earned his Ph.D. in public administration from the University of Colorado, an M.A. from Columbia University Teacher’s College, and a B.A in economics from the University of Michigan. He serves on the boards of the Wallace Foundation, the Institute for Education Leadership, and the Panasonic Foundation.

Executive Leadership Team

Donna Bosmeny
Vice President of Human Resources and Administration
(800) 548-4998, ext. 2376

Nina Link
Director of Finance
(800) 548-4998, ext. 2403

Debbie Chrestensen
Regional Manager

Lilia Limon
Regional Manager

Amanda Nappier
Regional Manager

Julie Wible
Regional Manager